What kind of scientist do I want to be?

Rhianne Curley is a first year student in Biotechnology and the post below is based on an assignment given to the class following a lecture I (GF) gave them on the ten types of scientist.

________________________________________________________________

When I was in my Transition Year in secondary school I was lucky enough to be given the opportunity to work in one of the labs in Bristol-Myers Squibb. I felt really comfortable in the lab environment and this is when my interest in working in the science industry really began.

I was up early every morning anticipating an interesting new day while I was there. Working in the labs, developing and analysing products is my idea of the perfect job. What excites me most is the fact that people working in the drug development industry have to be adaptable due to the fact that new drugs are needed in order to combat new strains of existing diseases and also to treat and prevent new diseases.

As the world faces increasing life expectancies and a growing elderly population the pharmaceutical and medical device industries will be a sector full of opportunity. The thrill of discovery and the possibility of making an impact in the world is what attracts me to this type of work most. I imagine with a job like this I would wake up almost every morning with a feeling of excitement for a new day of work. I understand that it is not a typical 9 to 5 job but I believe that I have the patience, commitment and the right attitude required to succeed in the competitive development industry.

I have a desire to make a contribution to science and believe this will be possible if I have the privilege to work in this industry. My absolute dream job would be to work as a drug developer in the chemical and pharmaceutical industry. I’d love to be able to be a part of a team attempting to come up with products that could potentially benefit millions of people in years to come. I imagine myself using sophisticated computers and equipment, working with microscopic compounds and conducting experiments in order to aid the development of pharmaceuticals.

The ideal company that I’d like to work for would be a multinational company like Bristol-Myers Squibb, Pfizer, or other similar companies. I would look forward to having the opportunity to travel to another country to work with like-minded people and to develop my own skills. I admire the dedication the employees at these companies have, discovering medicine and treatments that can help people all over the world. I know I have just begun my journey into the world of science but I am really excited about the next four years studying areas that I really have an interest in.

Leave a Reply

